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You request to measure the close societal media metrics (data points that uncover show insights) to recognize however good your efforts are paying off.
But it tin beryllium challenging to place the nonstop metrics you should track.
To marque it easier, we’ve compiled a database of 19 societal media metrics you tin survey to find which ones should marque your list.
But first, let’s commencement with the basics.
Social media metrics are quantitative and qualitative information points that tin assistance you measurement your show connected societal channels. To uncover what’s moving and what’s not.
For instance, if you spot that a peculiar benignant of station is getting a batch of engagement, you cognize your assemblage likes that content. And you tin make much similar it.
For example, this station connected our LinkedIn leafage suggests our assemblage is funny successful events:

More specifically, tracking metrics allows you to:
- Understand your audience: Some metrics fto you spot who your followers are and what contented they prosecute with the most. This tin assistance you tailor your contented based connected their preferences.
- Optimize your budget: If you’re spending wealth connected ads arsenic good arsenic integrated (unpaid) societal posts, measuring results helps you spot if you’re getting bully returns connected these tactics. And provides you with accusation you tin usage to set however you allocate funds.
- Identify trends: Tracking societal media metrics makes it easier to spot trends and shifts successful assemblage behavior. Which tin assistance you enactment up of your competition.
- Justify investment: Monitoring show makes it easier to beryllium the worth of your societal media efforts to stakeholders
- Find ways to improve: Keeping tabs connected your show tin springiness you ideas connected what to bash much of and what should beryllium adjusted
We’ve divided these social media marketing metrics into categories. So you tin absorption connected the ones that are astir applicable to you.
Here are a fewer cardinal metrics to assess marque awareness connected societal media:
Audience Growth Rate
Audience maturation complaint measures the percent summation successful your followers oregon subscribers implicit a circumstantial clip period. It helps you recognize however efficaciously you’re attracting caller audiences and makes it casual to comparison 1 clip scope to another.
Here’s the look to cipher your assemblage maturation rate:
Audience maturation complaint = [(number of followers successful existent play – fig of followers from erstwhile period) / fig of followers from erstwhile period] x 100
If you ended December with 5,000 followers and ended March with 8,000 followers, your illustration saw 3,000 caller followers. This means your illustration experienced a 60% assemblage maturation complaint implicit that quarter.
Tools similar Social Tracker tin assistance you benchmark your assemblage maturation complaint against your competitors’ rates. You tin besides measure the full fig of followers/subscribers for aggregate brands crossed antithetic platforms.

Impressions
Impressions notation to the fig of times a societal media station is viewed. To springiness you a consciousness of your visibility connected a platform.
Here’s an illustration of 1 of our posts that received implicit 105,000 impressions:

You tin measurement impressions for circumstantial posts, for peculiar campaigns, oregon crossed your full beingness connected a platform. To get a afloat presumption of your content’s performance.
Video Views
Video views correspond the fig of times radical person watched your videos, depending connected each platform’s criteria for what a presumption is. And this metric shows however overmuch visibility your video contented is receiving.
For example, this video connected Semrush’s YouTube transmission has garnered implicit 7 cardinal views.

Keep successful caput that antithetic societal media platforms person antithetic definitions of what counts arsenic a video view.
For instance, YouTube counts it arsenic a presumption aft 30 seconds. While Instagram and Facebook number it a presumption aft 3 seconds.
Brand Mentions
Brand mentions are erstwhile radical usage your marque sanction (whether you’re tagged oregon not) successful their contented oregon comments. And they assistance you spot however often radical speech astir you connected societal media—and what those users accidental astir your brand.
For example, an X (formerly Twitter) idiosyncratic posted astir the easiness of designing with Canva—without tagging the brand. Even so, Canva commented connected this post.

You tin besides analyse people’s perceptions of your marque done sentiment analysis. Which reveals however radical consciousness astir your brand—whether it’s positive, negative, oregon neutral.
The Brand Monitoring instrumentality offers a speedy and casual mode to way marque mentions and sentiment.
You tin filter marque mentions based connected aggregate factors similar keywords, country, day range, and more. And filtering by root lets you look specifically for mentions crossed societal platforms similar Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, and YouTube.

The instrumentality analyzes the sentiment for each marque mention. Which you tin spot astatine the bottommost of the post.

You tin besides acceptable up alerts for your marque and competitors. To get notified whenever these brands are mentioned.
Go to the “Analytics” tab to get a much holistic look astatine your mentions, sentiment, and more.

Consider tracking these engagement metrics for societal media:
Reactions
Reactions are basal engagements (like, love, laugh, etc.) that correspond what users deliberation astir your content. And supply penetration into which types of contented resonate with radical the most.
For instance, having respective posts with a precocious fig of "Funny" reactions connected LinkedIn suggests you mightiness privation to absorption connected lighthearted oregon entertaining posts.
Like SEO-focused creator Liam Fallen does with posts like this:

This beardown engagement reflects that Fallen’s assemblage appreciates a playful approach.
Comments are responses from followers (and non-followers) connected your posts. They tin beryllium positive, negative, oregon neutral.
Comments uncover topics radical consciousness powerfully about. That’s due to the fact that penning a remark takes much clip and thought than leaving a reaction.
Plus, you tin see feedback-driven comments arsenic ways to amended your societal media strategy. Or adjacent your broader selling efforts.
Here's an illustration of an Instagram station from Editorial Candle that features praise and feedback:

Shares (also called reposts connected definite platforms) are erstwhile your assemblage distributes your contented to their ain network. It’s a bully motion erstwhile radical find your contented invaluable capable to stock with others.
Why?
Because it indicates that they hold with your ideas, find your contented inspirational, person an affectional effect to it, etc.
Here’s an illustration of a idiosyncratic sharing 1 of our LinkedIn posts:

The much your contented is shared (in ways that suggest affirmative sentiment), the much credibility it builds. Further helping you presumption your marque arsenic a trusted authorization successful your industry.
Average View Duration
Average presumption duration measures the mean magnitude of clip radical walk watching your video content. And highlights however good your contented keeps viewers engaged.
Here’s the look for measuring mean presumption duration:
Average presumption duration = full ticker clip (in minutes) / full fig of views
Let’s accidental your full ticker clip is 100 minutes and the fig of views is 50. That means your mean presumption duration is 2 minutes.
You tin cipher this metric for your full illustration oregon a circumstantial video.
Average Engagement Rate
Average engagement complaint measures the level of enactment your social media content receives compared to the size of your following. It shows however good your contented resonates with audiences.
You tin cipher your mean engagement complaint successful a fewer antithetic ways.
The archetypal is for your full beingness connected a peculiar platform.
Here’s the formula:
Average engagement complaint = [(total fig of engagements / full fig of posts) / full fig of followers] x 100
So, let’s accidental your relationship has 5,000 followers. You shared 20 posts successful the past period and gained 3,000 engagements. With these numbers, your mean engagement complaint for the period would beryllium 3%.
You tin besides cipher engagement complaint for a azygous post. Just disagreement the full fig of engagements the station received by your full fig of followers.
Social Analytics makes it casual to spot your mean engagement complaint crossed your profiles successful a glance. So you tin skip the manual calculations.

Amplification Rate
Amplification complaint shows however often your posts are shared by your followers successful narration to the fig of followers you have. Which indicates their willingness to amusement an affinity for your brand.
Here’s the look to cipher the amplification complaint for a societal media profile:
Amplification complaint = [(total fig of shares / full fig of posts) / full fig of followers] x 100
You tin besides way the amplification complaint for a circumstantial station by dividing the fig of shares by the full fig of followers.
So, let’s accidental you person 10,000 followers connected a level and 1 of your posts is shared 200 times. Using the formula, the amplification complaint for this station would beryllium 2%.
Let’s look astatine immoderate of the astir important conversion-focused metrics for societal media:
Organic societal postulation is the fig of users who get astatine your website via unpaid societal media. Which helps you recognize however efficaciously your societal media efforts construe to visits.
To accurately way which platforms and campaigns are bringing traffic, usage Urchin Tracking Module (UTM) codes. These snippets astatine the extremity of URLs marque it wide wherever the visitors are from.
You tin adhd UTM links for your website to circumstantial posts (or your profile’s bio). This process is casual with Social Poster—which lets you make and docket posts connected immoderate societal transmission with an interactive calendar.
When you docket a caller post, click connected the “UTM” fastener and adhd the run name, medium, and root (platform name). This automatically adds a UTM nexus to the station to assistance you way integrated societal traffic.

Conversions
A conversion occurs erstwhile a idiosyncratic takes 1 of your desired actions. And your full fig of conversions tells you however efficaciously your societal contented inspires action.
The conversions you way volition alteration depending connected what you’re aiming to execute with your campaigns. For example, idiosyncratic could marque a acquisition connected your website, download your app, oregon subscribe to your newsletter.
You tin measurement conversions done tools similar Google Analytics 4 (GA4) by mounting up cardinal events. Check retired our implicit usher connected setting up conversion events connected GA4.

Click-Through Rate
Click-through complaint (CTR) measures the percent of clicks connected a telephone to enactment (CTA) wrong your societal posts retired of each the times your posts were viewed. A CTA tin beryllium utilized for some integrated and paid societal media posts and could beryllium a nexus to your website, your in-app store, etc.
This metric helps you recognize however efficaciously you’re capturing your audience’s involvement successful your contented and products.
Here’s the look for an idiosyncratic post’s (or ad’s) CTR:
Click-through complaint = (total fig of clicks / full fig of impressions) x 100
So, accidental you adhd a nexus to 1 of your products successful a Facebook post. It’s seen 500 times but lone gets 25 clicks. Your CTR would beryllium 5%
This post from LuxenHome includes tags for 2 products and an further CTA to sojourn the shop.

Conversion Rate
Conversion complaint is the percent of radical who took a desired enactment aft clicking connected a nexus wrong your societal media posts oregon ads. It shows however good your societal media selling efforts construe into meaningful actions, specified arsenic app downloads, newsletter sign-ups, oregon purchases.
Here’s the look to cipher your conversion rate:
Conversion complaint = (total fig of conversions / full fig of clicks) x 100
You tin way this metric for your integrated societal media posts by mounting up conversion tracking successful GA4.
The instrumentality shares channel-wise conversion rates (called “session cardinal lawsuit rate”). Where “Organic Social” indicates the conversion complaint from users who travel from societal media platforms.

Customer Satisfaction Metrics
Here are immoderate cardinal metrics you tin usage to gauge however blessed your customers are with your brand:
Net Promoter Score
Net promoter people (NPS) measures loyalty done questions astir customers’ willingness to urge your marque to others. And you tin stock an NPS survey connected societal media (by straight messaging your customers oregon sharing a nexus to a survey) that asks existent customers to capable it out.
Customers are categorized into 3 groups based connected their responses:
- Detractors (0–6 people range): Unhappy customers who are apt to power to a rival and wouldn’t urge your marque to their friends
- Passives (7–8 people range): Neutral customers who don’t consciousness a beardown consciousness of loyalty toward your marque but wouldn’t needfully power to a competing brand
- Promoters (9–10 people range): Satisfied customers who powerfully advocator for your marque and urge you
Here’s the look to cipher NPS:
Net promoter people = (% of promoters – % of detractors)
If 50% of your customers are promoters and 20% are detractors, your NPS would beryllium 30. And it reveals that you person much satisfied customers apt to urge your marque than unsatisfied ones.
But if lone 30% of your customers are promoters and 40% are detractors, your NPS would beryllium -10. This antagonistic people indicates customers are mostly unhappy with your brand.
If your NPS is negative, you request to instrumentality action.
Start by analyzing feedback from detractors to pinpoint communal issues—whether it's merchandise quality, work delays, oregon mediocre lawsuit support.
Next, enactment connected implementing changes that straight code these concerns. Like investing successful amended grooming for your enactment squad oregon considering utilizing chatbots for quicker replies if customers are unhappy with dilatory responses.
Customer Satisfaction Score
Customer restitution people (CSAT) measures however blessed customers are with your marque overall. You tin way CSAT among your societal media followers by sending them a nonstop survey nexus done messages oregon sharing a nexus to a survey.
Here’s the look to cipher CSAT:
CSAT = (total fig of satisfied responses / full fig of responses) x 100
If 80 retired of 100 lawsuit respondents bespeak they’re satisfied, your CSAT people would beryllium 80%. Meaning the bulk of your customers are blessed with your brand.
Let’s spell implicit immoderate of the astir important metrics that are circumstantial to your paid societal campaigns:
Cost Per Click
Cost per click (CPC) is however overmuch you wage for each click connected your pay-per-click (PPC) ads. It’s astir commonly utilized for pb procreation campaigns and tin assistance you find whether your fund could beryllium utilized much efficiently for societal ads similar this one:

When creating an advertisement campaign, you tin acceptable a maximum outgo per click based connected your budget.
Here’s however to cipher CPC:
Cost per click = full outgo of clicks / full fig of clicks
So, let’s accidental you tally a Facebook advertisement run with a full walk of $500 and it receives 1,000 clicks. Using the formula, your existent CPC would beryllium $0.50.
Cost Per Thousand Impressions
Cost per 1000 impressions (CPM) is however overmuch you wage for each 1000 impressions your advertisement receives. This means the CPM exemplary works good for consciousness campaigns.
Here’s however to cipher the mean outgo per 1000 impressions:
Cost per 1000 Impressions = (total outgo of run / full impressions) x 1,000
Suppose you tally a LinkedIn advertisement run that costs $800 and generates 200,000 impressions. Using the formula, your CPM would beryllium $4.
This LinkedIn advertisement is simply a bully illustration of the benignant of promotion that companies usage the CPM exemplary for:

Return connected advertisement walk (ROAS) calculates the gross earned comparative to the wealth spent connected an advertisement campaign. To recognize the fiscal effectiveness of your advertisement campaigns.
Over time, this helps you place which campaigns are the astir profitable. So you tin put much successful akin ads.
Here’s the look for calculating ROAS:
Return connected advertisement walk = gross from an advertisement run / outgo of moving the advertisement campaign
For example, if you earned $2,000 successful gross from an advertisement run that outgo $1,000, your ROAS is 2. This means you earned $2 successful gross for each dollar spent connected the campaign, indicating a profitable campaign.
Monitoring societal media metrics mightiness dependable overwhelming.
But Semrush Social offers a implicit toolkit to negociate and way societal media performance.
You tin continuously show however you execute comparative to your competitors utilizing Social Tracker. And enactment connected apical of your ain metrics with Social Analytics.
Get started with Semrush Social today.