The Top 24 Website Metrics to Track in 2024

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Running a website without tracking its show is similar flying a level without a navigation system. You won’t cognize if you’re headed successful the close direction. Or wherever you should course-correct.

The close acceptable of website metrics provides accordant feedback connected what’s moving and what isn't. So you tin adapt. And deed your selling goals.

Track these 24 website show metrics to recognize however good your website attracts, engages, and converts visitors. 

What Are Website Metrics?

Website metrics are objective, data-based, numerical measurements of your website performance. 

These metrics amusement however good your website attracts visitors, engages them with content, and converts them into customers. Some metrics measurement method aspects related to hunt motor optimization (SEO), leafage load time, and more.

The Importance of Website Metrics

Tracking website metrics helps you place what works well. 

For example, it tin amusement you which sources bring successful the astir website traffic. Or what benignant of contented converts. So you tin bash much of what works for your brand.

Website metrics besides springiness you an unbiased presumption of however visitors and users interact with your website. For instance, a landing leafage with a precocious bounce complaint could bespeak that the content, experience, oregon plan doesn’t resonate with users.

Lastly, website metrics connection an accidental to recognize your perfect users. They assistance you categorize website visitors based connected geolocation, postulation source, and device. This tin assistance you people much of them aboriginal on.

Here’s an illustration of information from Google Analytics showing users by device:

Users by instrumentality  information  shown successful  Google Analytics

From aggregate information points, you could larn that astir of your perfect users are from the U.S., get connected your website organically via Google.com, and usage a mobile phone. From there, you tin fine-tune your website contented and plan to service this people assemblage better.

Evolution of Website Metrics successful the Digital Age

In the 1990s, websites were scrappy, hyperlink-based sites. And their efficacy was measured by 2 metrics introduced successful the mid-90s: leafage views and visits. That’s all.

Today’s websites are highly personalized, interactive, lead-generating assets—central to our selling efforts. 

They person precocious to:

  • Compete with different online offerings
  • Serve much users (global online users grew from .05% successful 1990 to 66.2% today)
  • Interact with users via 3D elements, animations, chatbots, question sensors, hunt features, societal media, videos, virtual world (VR) and augmented world (AR)

If the aboriginal websites were comparable to a Ford Model T, today’s websites are akin to self-driving cars that tally connected amended roads, astatine higher speeds, with much features. 

They indispensable beryllium measured differently. We request a scope of elaborate website metrics to assistance america place our opportunities to basal retired from the competition.

How to Check Website Metrics

Tools similar Google Analytics and Semrush supply you with broad website analytics metrics. 

For example:

Google Analytics reveals however users interact with your website, however agelong they stay, and which pages they visit. 

Semrush’s Traffic Analytics instrumentality does that too, portion Domain Overview tracks a site’s show implicit time, Organic Traffic Insights reveals engagement by keyword, and Site Audit reports connected the method show of your site.

Below, we’ll see 7 categories of website metrics. And wrong each one, urge circumstantial metrics to measure.

Website Traffic Metrics

Website postulation metrics person to bash with the visitors who usage your website. 

The pursuing 4 website postulation metrics tin assistance you recognize however galore visitors you get each month, wherever they travel from, and what contented they consume.

1. Total Number of Visits

This metric tells you the full fig of times your website was visited during a specified period: monthly, quarterly, oregon annually.

The perfect fig of website visits volition alteration depending connected your offering, industry, and people audience. For instance, an online B2C (business-to-consumer) marque whitethorn presumption 1 cardinal monthly visits arsenic inadequate due to the fact that it’s focused connected high-volume sales. But for a niche B2B (business-to-business) SaaS product, adjacent 10,000 monthly visitors tin beryllium invaluable due to the fact that it focuses connected lower-volume but higher-quality leads.

2. Total Unique Visitors

Let’s accidental 2 users, A and B, visited your website successful the past hour. User A visits your website once. But idiosyncratic B visits your website twice. In this case, the full fig of visits is three, but the unsocial visitors number is two. 

Unique visitors are the existent fig of radical you reached. Use the pursuing look to find the mean fig of visits per unsocial visitor.

Average visits per unsocial   visitant  formula

If your website received 15,000 full visits and 10,000 unsocial visitors past month, your mean visits per unsocial visitant is 1.5.

3. Traffic Sources

Traffic sources uncover however visitors get connected your website. 

For example, spot if tract visitors came from search, a nexus successful an email, a referral link, paid ads, oregon societal media.

Identifying your site’s apical postulation sources helps you absorption your selling and income efforts connected channels that bring successful the astir visitors. 

4. Page Views

This metric shows the full fig of times immoderate of your webpages loaded successful a browser. So, adjacent repeated leafage loads by the aforesaid idiosyncratic are counted. 

Advanced tools whitethorn besides amusement a unsocial leafage presumption metric that counts lone unsocial idiosyncratic leafage views.

Track the supra 4 website postulation metrics with a escaped Google Analytics account. Or, usage Semrush Traffic Analytics to spell 1 measurement further. It compares your postulation metrics with your competitors’. And gives suggestions connected however to pull much traffic.

To start, log successful to Traffic Analytics

And participate the domains of up to 5 competitors. 

Traffic Analytics tool

Select a determination from the drop-down. Then, click “Analyze.” 

"nike.com," and "adidas.com" entered into the Traffic Analytics instrumentality   hunt  bar

In this example, we’re utilizing Nike and Adidas arsenic competitors for our fictional footwear brand. 

You’ll spot a dashboard akin to the 1 shown below. 

An "Overview" dashboard for Nike and Adidas successful  Traffic Analytics tool

The “Overview” tab shows 3 of the 4 traffic-related metrics:

  • Total fig of visits
  • Unique visitors
  • Page views per visit
Visits, unsocial   visitors, and leafage   views per sojourn  metrics highlighted successful  Traffic Analytics tool

To find details connected the 4th metric, postulation sources, click “Traffic Journey.” 

"Traffic Journey" tab highlighted successful  Traffic Analytics tool

You’ll spot Traffic Channels.

"Traffic Channels" information  shown successful  Traffic Analytics tool

Below that, you’ll spot “Traffic Journey.” 

"Traffic Journey" visualization successful  Traffic Analytics tool

With this information, place opportunities to replicate and amended connected your competitors’ success. 

In our example, some Nike and Adidas person postulation from Facebook. Facebook whitethorn beryllium a bully spot to advertise and scope the people audience.

Engagement Metrics

Engagement metrics uncover however users interact with your site. 

Four to reappraisal are:

5. Average Session Duration

This metric tells you the mean clip visitors walk crossed your website earlier their league ends.

A longer mean league is much desirable. But your metrics volition alteration depending connected your industry. The mean league duration for B2C websites is 92.33 seconds. For B2B, it’s somewhat little astatine 77.61 seconds.

If your mean is supra that, your tract is doing well.

6. Pages Per Session

This metric tells you the mean fig of webpages visitors presumption during a session. For much context, this metric is often shown alongside the mean league duration metric.

“The median fig of pages per league for B2B companies is 1.89” according to Databox. So, 2 oregon much pages per league is highly desirable. If your pages per league metric is little than two, revisit your contented strategy, website design, and perfect lawsuit profile. 

7. Bounce Rate

Bounce complaint measures the fig of sessions that lasted less than 10 seconds, led to nary conversions, and had less than 2 leafage views.

It’s reported arsenic a percent of each visitant sessions. The pursuing look helps you cipher your bounce rate:

Bounce complaint   look   with an example

Let’s accidental your full fig of monthly sessions is 50,000. In 20,000 of those sessions, visitors exit your website without viewing different webpage, completing a conversion, oregon staying for astatine slightest 10 seconds. Your bounce complaint would beryllium (100 X 20,000) divided by 50,000 = 40%. A bounce complaint of nether 40% is good.

8. User Behavior Flow

The idiosyncratic behaviour travel is shown arsenic a sankey chart. This illustration shows however visitors navigate to different pages connected your website.

The idiosyncratic    behaviour  travel  illustration  shows however  visitors navigate to different   pages connected  your website

This illustration helps you visualize the bid visitors spell successful arsenic they determination betwixt your assorted webpages. It besides identifies the pages wherever visitors commonly driblet off. 

Use this accusation to amended your tract plan oregon make much engaging content.

Track these 4 website engagement metrics with a escaped Google Analytics account. Or usage Semrush’s Organic Traffic Insights for a much elaborate analysis.

Log successful to Organic Traffic Insights

Enter your domain and click “Get Insights.” 

Organic Traffic Insights tool
"Create project" pop-up model   successful  Organic Traffic Insights

Once you acceptable up a project, click the task sanction to spot metrics astir its keywords, users, and sessions.

Organic hunt  postulation   report, with keywords, users, and sessions metrics highlighted

Conversion Metrics

Conversion metrics assistance you recognize however good your tract is driving action. 

Calculate the effectiveness of your conversion and income funnels with these 3 conversion metrics.

9. Conversion Rate

This metric tells you what percent of visitors performed a predefined conversion action, specified arsenic subscribing to your blog, downloading a PDF, oregon purchasing your product. 

Define the astir due conversion enactment to measurement based connected your website goals. For example, if you’re moving selling campaigns designed to make leads, measurement the conversion complaint connected your signifier submissions.

Whatever you’re measuring, the conversion complaint look is:

Conversion complaint   formula

If 10,000 full visitors presumption your landing leafage and 5,000 taxable the form, your conversion complaint volition beryllium 5,000 signifier submissions divided by 10,000 visitors (= 0.5) multiplied by 100 (= 50). That’s a 50% conversion rate.

10. Cost Per Conversion

This metric shows however overmuch it costs a company, connected average, to person a idiosyncratic to execute the conversion action. 

To cipher this metric, disagreement the full conversion run outgo by the fig of users who performed the conversion action.

Cost per conversion formula

For example, if you paid $10,000 (total run cost) to make societal media assets and ads, and you get 50,000 visitors who execute the conversion enactment (submitting a form), your outgo per conversion volition beryllium $10,000 divided by 50,000 conversions = 20 cents per conversion.

11. Lead-to-Customer Ratio

This metric tells you however galore leads you need, connected average, to gain 1 paying customer. 

To cipher this metric, disagreement your full fig of leads by your full customers. Set parameters based connected the question you privation to answer.

For example, you could cipher leads and customers from:

  • A definite clip period
  • A circumstantial campaign
  • A peculiar income region
Lead-to-customer ratio formula

For example, if a selling run generated 1,000 leads and 200 became paying customers wrong 90 days of its deployment, your lead-to-conversion ratio for that run would beryllium 1,000 leads divided by 200 customers = 5 leads per customer.

Businesses with agelong income cycles and ample mean purchases whitethorn substitute leads with qualified leads. A qualified pb is simply a idiosyncratic oregon institution that fits the business’s perfect lawsuit illustration (ICP) and has intent to purchase.

So, the supra illustration of 1,000 leads volition acquisition different qualification step. Let’s accidental that lone 500 of these leads conscionable the qualifying criteria. In this case, the lead-to-customer ratio would beryllium 2.5 leads per customer.

A escaped instrumentality similar Google Analytics tin assistance you way these conversion metrics. Or usage Semrush’s AI diagnostic to analyze rival acquisition conversion trends. This helps you place effectual conversion strategies from your competitors.

"Growth Quadrant" widget successful  Market Explorer tool

SEO Metrics

SEO metrics measurement however disposable your tract is apt to beryllium successful integrated hunt results. 

Use the pursuing 4 SEO metrics to recognize your website’s show successful search. And however to amended its online presence.

12. Keyword Rankings

When idiosyncratic conducts an net hunt utilizing presumption that are applicable to your business, wherever your URL appears successful the hunt motor results pages (SERPS) is your keyword ranking for that term. 

For example, if your website is successful the 3rd presumption connected Google’s hunt results leafage for a peculiar keyword, your keyword ranking is three. 

You’ll person antithetic keyword rankings for each keyword. Ideally, you’d privation to fertile highly for arsenic galore applicable keywords arsenic possible.

For example, if your website sells CRM software, you’ll privation to fertile highly for respective high-value keywords specified arsenic “what is simply a CRM,” “CRM pricing,” and “salesforce alternatives.”

13. Organic Traffic

Search results tin see some paid and unpaid results. Organic results and ads. 

The integrated postulation metric tells you the fig of visitors who get connected your tract specifically from unpaid oregon unpromoted hunt results. It accounts for each the escaped postulation you pull by creating applicable and insightful contented for your people audience.

Visitors that travel from paid hunt ads don’t number arsenic integrated traffic.

Backlinks (or inbound links) are links connected different websites that constituent to your website. 

Let’s accidental a lawsuit leaves a affirmative reappraisal of your SaaS merchandise connected a merchandise reappraisal tract similar Trustpilot oregon G2. And that reappraisal contains a nexus to your homepage. That counts arsenic a backlink.

Ideally, you’d privation to promote arsenic galore backlinks arsenic imaginable by asking your customers, partners, and vendors for nationalist reviews and testimonials. You besides gain backlinks by creating escaped offerings, archetypal research, and singular idiosyncratic experiences that experts and influencers successful your manufacture privation to speech about.

15. Click-Through Rate (CTR)

This metric tells you what percent of radical clicked connected your nexus retired of everyone who saw it. It tin assistance you find however galore impressions you request to gain a click. 

Calculate the CTR utilizing this formula:

Click-through complaint   (CTR) formula

Let’s accidental you tally an advertisement run highlighting an archetypal probe statistic from your institution data. If 10,000 users saw this advertisement and 1,000 clicked the CTA button, your CTR is 1,000 clicks divided by 10,000 impressions (= 0.1) x 100 (= 10). Your CTR is 10%.

Easily way the supra 4 SEO metrics with a escaped Google Analytics account. And usage Semrush’s Domain Overview to find hidden keyword opportunities. Adding those to your contented tin pull adjacent much integrated traffic.

To start, unfastened Domain Overview.

Enter a domain that you privation insights for. Select a determination from the drop-down. Then, click “Search.”

"hotels.com" domain entered into the Domain Overview excessively  hunt  bar

The instrumentality volition analyse that domain’s competitors and supply a elaborate investigation of their postulation sources, backlinks, and advertisement performance. Use this accusation to capitalize connected your competitors’ weaknesses.

Authority score, integrated  hunt  traffic, paid hunt  traffic, and backlinks information  shown for "hotels.com" successful  Domain Overview tool

Content Performance Metrics

The pursuing 3 metrics, on with different content selling metrics tin assistance you find however effectual your contented is.

16. Top Performing Pages

This metric lists the webpages connected your tract that pull the astir traffic. 

In Google Analytics, navigate to “Reports” > “Engagement” > “Pages and Screens.” You’ll find a database of each your webpages ranked successful descending bid successful presumption of leafage views. 

17. Average Engagement Time

This metric tells you however long, connected average, visitors support your website successful absorption successful a browser oregon successful the foreground of a mobile app.

Calculate the mean engagement clip metric utilizing the beneath formula:

Average engagement clip  formula

Let’s accidental that 3 users, A, B, and C, visited your website successful the past hour. User A views your location and the pricing pages for a combined full of 5 minutes. User B views your location and astir america pages for a combined full of 3 minutes. And idiosyncratic C keeps your website successful the foreground connected a mobile instrumentality for 4 minutes.

In this scenario, the full engagement clip is 5 + 3 + 4 = 12 minutes. Divide this full by the 3 progressive viewers. 12 minutes divided by 3 viewers = 4 minutes mean engagement time.

In Google Analytics, navigate to “Reports” > “Engagement” > “Engagement Overview” to spot the mean engagement clip for your site.

This metric tells you however galore times your societal media posts were shared implicit a specified play of time.

Let’s accidental you launched 2 posts implicit the past 24 hours. One station was shared 10 times portion the different had zero shares. Your full societal shares implicit the past 24 hours is 10 shares.

Because Google Analytics tracks lone your website performance, determination is nary straightforward mode to measurement societal shares connected the GA4 platform. Instead, usage the Semrush Social Tracker to spot a study of however users prosecute with your societal media posts. 

Once you log successful to your Semrush account, find this instrumentality nether the “Social Media” menu. 

The instrumentality provides a elaborate regular study of full engaged users, reactions, comments, and shares. 

Here’s an example:

Social Tracker instrumentality   showing information  for days of the week erstwhile   station  are published, and days of the week erstwhile   radical   prosecute  with posts

Social Tracker besides gives you accusation connected your competitors’ societal media efforts. You tin power betwixt profiles utilizing the dropdown paper connected the dashboard.

Technical Performance Metrics

Technical show metrics supply an knowing of your website health.

The pursuing 3 metrics springiness a bully overview.

19. Page Load Speed

Page load velocity measures however galore seconds it takes, connected average, to show your full webpage successful a browser window. 

Page load speeds volition alteration based connected users’ web speed. But it besides varies based connected interior factors similar however galore resources the leafage needs to load. Ideally, you privation leafage load velocity nether 2 seconds.

Because faster leafage load speeds amended idiosyncratic experience. 

“The probability of bounce increases 32% arsenic leafage load clip goes from 1 2nd to 3 seconds,” according to Google.

Faster load times tin beryllium bully for your ranking successful hunt motor results pages, too. Because Google prioritizes pages with bully idiosyncratic experiences higher successful the results. 

Find your website’s mean leafage (HTML) load velocity via Site Audit

From your task dashboard, find the “Site Performance” sheet nether “Thematic Reports.” 

Click the “View details” button.

“Site Performance” widget highlighted nether  “Thematic Reports" conception  successful  Site Audit tool

This study displays information Site Audit got erstwhile it crawled your site. It besides creates a color-coded, leafage load velocity graph for your webpages.

"Site Performance" study  successful  the Site Audit tool

20. Crawlability

Crawlability refers to however casual it is for hunt engines to find and scale your webpages. This is important due to the fact that hunt engines person to scale your webpages earlier they tin look successful integrated hunt results.

Internal links, a logical structure, and an XML sitemap amended the crawlability of your site.

Find crawlability accusation by navigating to “Settings” > “Crawl stats connected your escaped Google Search Console.” Or you could usage the Thematic Report successful Site Audit to spot an overview of the elements affecting your site’s crawlability. And the crawlability issues you tin research and fix.

21. Internal Linking

This metric tells you the fig of interior links that constituent to webpages connected your website. Similar to outer links, interior links besides boost a webpage's authority.

Page authority is simply a people that reflects however apt a leafage is to fertile successful hunt results. A higher leafage authorization reflects a higher likelihood of ranking astatine the apical of hunt results. More interior links tin pb to a higher authorization score. 

Site Audit offers a acold elaborate study of your interior links. This tool’s “Thematic Reports” conception includes accusation connected crawl depth, interior nexus distribution, and interior nexus errors.

Site Audit tool's “Thematic Reports” section

In summation to showing elaborate load speed, crawlability, and interior linking reports, Site Audit besides scans your website for implicit 140 method tract wellness and SEO issues. 

The “Overview” study provides an wide tract wellness people based connected the fig of website errors and warnings. Use this accusation to code these method issues.

Customer Satisfaction Metrics

The pursuing 3 metrics measurement your idiosyncratic restitution levels.

22. Exit Rate

This metric tells you the percent of sessions that ended connected a peculiar page. For each webpage, cipher the exit complaint arsenic follows:

Exit complaint   formula

It’s adjuvant to cognize which pages astir often effect successful an exit. You tin usage this accusation to place and hole pages that origin astir visitors to leave.

23. Customer Satisfaction Score (CSAT)

This metric gives you the percent of users who self-report feeling satisfied with the enactment they had with your website. Consider utilizing an in-app survey instrumentality similar Userpilot oregon Survicate to cod CSAT from your users.

24. Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

This business metric measures the mean gross you tin expect for each progressive customer. Calculate CLV utilizing the beneath formula:

Customer beingness   worth  (CLV) formula

You’ll request accusation astir the full revenue, full fig of progressive customers, and the mean lawsuit lifespan from your CRM oregon accounting software. 

Effortlessly Track the Website Metrics That Matter

Tracking these website metrics manually tin consciousness laborious. 

But monitoring website metrics is important for knowing and optimizing website performance.

Semrush provides a straightforward mode to entree cardinal website metrics each successful 1 dashboard. Get implicit 55 antithetic tools, including the ones mentioned successful this article, nether 1 Semrush account.